The great state of Texas has many laws in place designed to protect the people who call it home. It is important to follow these laws or you risk fines, suspension of your license, and harsher penalties, including jail time. Below are some of the laws you may not be aware of. Consider attending a defensive driving school to help you stay on the right side of driving laws.
Texas Laws for Child Car Seats
Federal law requires children under the age of eight to ride in a federally approved child car seat unless the child is over four feet and nine inches tall. Failure to have your child properly secured in an age appropriate car seat for the child in the state of Texas can result in fines beginning at $25 for the first offense increasing to $250 for repeat offenders.
Texas Seat Belt Laws
Passengers and drivers in the state of Texas are required to wear seatbelts. Failing to do so can result in fines for both. Driving a vehicle in Texas without wearing a seatbelt can result in a fine of up to $200 to the driver. Other fines assessed to the driver include fines for allowing passengers under the age of 17 to ride without a seatbelt and allowing children under the age of 18 to ride in the open bed of a pickup or an open flatbed truck. Vehicle passengers who are 15 or older can be assessed fines of their own for riding without a seatbelt.
Mobile Phone use by Texas Drivers
Mobile phones present a serious risk to the drivers operating the mobile phone and other drivers on the road. Texas, in an effort to reduce the instances of distracted drivers prohibits the use of mobile devices while driving for anyone who is under the age of 18, has had a learner’s permit for six or fewer months, is in a school crossing zone, or who is operating a school bus with children present.
Driving Under the Influence
Intoxicated driving places everyone on Texas roadways at risk. The penalties for doing so are stiff and may include any or all of the following:
- Community service
- Suspended license
- Fines beginning at $2,000
If you’ve run afoul of these or other Texas driving laws you may find that attending a defensive driving school can help you reduce your fines and improve your overall driving. Contact Texas Drivers Safety today at (888)71-Texas for more information, or to sign up for a class.